NCDA Lab Configuration Extra: Expanding the ONTAP Simulator


As promised, this is the post that will show you how to expand the current 8.1.1 ONTAP simulator.  When I did this for the first time I probably built this thing 10 times because of the need to use multiple resources to get it done.  So while I can’t take credit for all of it, I felt it made sense to put it all together so hopefully someone else could do it easier.  With some help from these posts (link1, link2), I expanded both of my simulators to 42 disks each and they are all 4GB drives.  This gives me a little over 130GB of disk space to work with.  With the SSD that I’m currently using, this allows me to run both of the shelves on the same SSD and get the most out of the room used.  Below I’ve outlined the processes that I went through to expand the simulator.  
You shouldn’t have to expand the shelves or change out the drives with the ONTAP simulator for the NCDA.  Because I actually use these simulators to present storage to nested ESXi hosts, I expanded them to accommodate nested VMs within those nested hosts.  With this disclaimer in mind, I’ve noted the area in the configuration information that shows where I deviate from a normal configuration.  But I wanted to give you the option and show you how to expand the shelves at the same time if you want to use these simulators for more than this lab environment.  Below are the steps we need to take to expand the Simulator. 
  • Add two new 14 drive 4GB shelves
  • Create new  aggregate
  • Move root volume to new aggregate
  • Rename aggregate and root volume
  • Destroy the two 14 drive 1GB shelves
  • Add one new 14 drive 4GB shelf 

Most of the content is a rehash of Julian Wood’s post mixed with going back and forth from that to the second link.  However the newer simulators you don’t have to do all the stuff he does to expand them I found when I went through the process.   This is because NetApp has allocated a 250GB IDE drive with the VM for the disks.  So while some of the content may be the same, you’ll see where we deviate from each other’s configurations.  Again, all credit to link authors for the content.  I simply modified it a bit to accommodate my setup.  We’ll be skipping over the first half of his post because this is no longer required.  I’ll be using my ZOC SSH client to perform all the tasks.

Boot up the ONTAP VM and login 
Run the command – disk show – this shows all the disks in the VM
You’ll notice that no all the disks are assigned.  You can run the command ‘disk show –n’ to show the details of the unassigned disks.  Don’t assign them yet, we’re going to destroy this shelf so we can add 3 4GB shelves. 
 
Next we’re going to unlock the diag user account and create the disks on the VM
 
Now we need to launch the systemshell to add the shelves
 
We need to add the path to the simulator disk tools and then go to the simulated devices directory and take a look
 
Next we’re going to add two new 4GB shelves.  We can run the command below and see all the sizes of disks that the Simulator will allow us to create.  We can create up to 9GB drives in each shelf.  Since I don’t have that much room, I’m going with 4GB drives.   
We’re looking for the following disk type:
31  NETAPP__  VD-4000MB-FZ-520  4,194,304,000  4,215,799,808   Yes  520  15000
The reason is we want the 15K drives and not the ATA ones.  Other than how they appear, there aren’t any function differences that I’m aware of. 
 
Now that we know what drives we’re going to use, we can create the shelves
 
After the disks are created we can run the ls ,disks/ command to show that our new disks are now there. 
 
We’re ready to exit diag mode and reboot the filer so the new disks show up

 

Once the filer is back online, we’re going to login and then assign all the disks to the controller.  Then we’re going to create a new aggregate out of the 4GB drives and a new root volume to copy the current one to.  (I cut out a lot of the repetitious outputs)
To be able to get rid of the two 1GB shelves, we need to get the root volume off of vol0 which resides on the 1GB shelves aggregate.  We can ndmpcopy the contents to the new 850MB volume we just created and then set the root volume to the new vol1 on the larger aggregate. 
 
Per Julian’s post, something becomes corrupted with SSL certificates so you’ll need to re-setup SSL on the device.  We’re also going to turn off spare alerting as it’s an annoyance that continually pops up in the console. 
 
Since we’ve copied the root volume over to vol1 and set it as the root, we can now destroy aggr0 and vol0 so that we can remove the two 1GB shelves as well as renaming aggr1 and vol1 back to what they should be named. 
 
Now that we’re done, we can permanently remove the first two shelves and add our third shelf of 4GB

 

All done, reboot and assign all and we now have a simulator with 3 functional 4GB shelves. 
 
I now have a simulator that has plenty of space and I can play with multiple technologies and even present this storage to an ESXi host.  I’ll do another post showing that later and what other cool stuff we can setup for a lab to test. 
Leave a Reply

