NCDA Lab Configuration Part 1: The Design

The first section of the NCDA preparation involves configuring an appropriate lab for practicing.  Luckily NetApp provides us with a Lab template that helps us accomplish this task.  Looking over the ANCDA Lab Setup Guide Template, I built the following topology based on that guide in VMware Workstation.  I like making lab setups as close as I can to a possible production scenario so I took some liberties and you don’t have to do all of this.  I put in a couple Vyatta routers running the RIP routing protocol so that I could simulate a WAN connection between two disparate networks.  Vyatta is open source so you have OSPF, BGP and RIP routing protocols.  I went with RIP because it’s simple to configure and gets me what I need from a Layer 3 perspective. 
Lab Scenario:
 NCDA Lab Configuration Part 1: The Design
 
This configuration mimics the lab template very closely.  This will enable us to configure NetApp replication technologies in scenarios that could be as close to real world as possible.  As we continue forward I will go into the individual component configurations.  This includes the Vyatta router configuration and connecting them via RIP.  Then I will go into how to configure the ONTAP Simulators and how to expand their storage capabilities.  
Disclaimer:  It is worth noting that I am running the entire lab on a Crucial M4 512GB SSD.  To ensure that I have the proper performance of the lab environment, given that I’m going to be running two ONTAP simulators at times, this was essential.  I wouldn’t attempt to run it on a normal spinning drive.  When I get into how to expand the ONTAP simulators to allow more space on them, you don’t have to go with as large of drives as I did if you have a smaller SSD.  
One thought on “NCDA Lab Configuration Part 1: The Design

  1. Pingback: NCDA Study Part 2.7 – Data ONTAP: Configuration | vWilmo

Leave a Reply

